EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Rejetting S&S Super E carb

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 08:28 PM
1/2crazedbikr
Cruiser
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Rejetting S&S Super E carb

Well I finally replaced the intermediate jet on my S&S carb today. Since I am a newbie at all this evo stuff (and I know from this forum that there are plenty more out there like me) I'm always poking around here and other websites looking for help on how to do the latest project or upgrade on the old girl (a 1988 FLHTC).

So for the other newbies out there I thought I would post some pointers and things that I ran into while doing this job.

I've been monkeying around with the idle speed, mixture, and accelerator pump settings for months now, and I think I had it dialed in about as well as it could be. For those of you who don't know, there are excellent videos on SScycles.com, their website. There are even more on youtube, just search youtube for SS carb videos and there are a ton. I followed the instructions on the S&S carb quick guide (on the website) precisely but was still getting quite a bit of coughing through the carb and some stumbling when cruising at 2000-2500 rpm. This is part of the range that the intermediate jet handles, and from what the S&S video on jetting says, it sounded like I was running a bit lean and needed to go up a size on the intermediate jet.

So first I needed to see what size intermediate jet I had in there. To access the jets you don't have to remove the carb from the bike. All you have to do is remove the air cleaner and the backing plate, and then the float bowl. Remember though, before you remove the float bowl, SHUT OFF THE PETCOCK AND DRAIN THE FLOAT BOWL! The drain is right in the middle of the bottom of the float bowl. If you don't shut off the petcock you better have a pretty big bowl handy to catch all the fuel as it drains out of your fuel tank.