EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Base gasket rebuild, thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2014, 11:48 PM
dhbmedic
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Base gasket rebuild, thoughts?

SO...I decided to bite the bullet and do the base gaskets myself. Nasty oil drips under the bottom, marking all the parking spots I use, oil bubbling up at LEAST from the L rear jug. Hope this is the cause of all my leaks at this point. Had the rocker box leaks before, solved them about 20K miles ago, never happened again.

Got the first head pulled apart today. Photos attached are from the front cylinder. Since I'm new to this level of detail on any engine, I was wondering if you all you pros out there could comment on a couple of things.

1) How do the valves look from below? There is a pic of the valves in place in the head. Should I replace them - and do the stuff that goes along with it - or can I just decarbonize them and put 'em back. I haven't done any measuring yet.

2) How does the piston look? I've seen a couple of pointers on how to tell wear by carbon pattern, but none of the seems to fit. Should I pull it and clean it - or do they get replaced?

3) This bike has 65K miles on it, and it looks like this is its first head job. The induction module is filthy. I thought about taking all the electronics out of it and soaking it a solvent, probably gasoline. Any thoughts on that?

4) I think the cylinder itself looks pretty good I am planning on replacing all three rings on both pistons since I have it apart. From the looks of the piston, should I do anything else? Hone it out?

5) Would it be worth it at this point to take the heads to a machine shop and have them cleaned and polished off, and do all this valve & honing work?