EVO All Evo Model Discussion

88 FLHS running poorly when lights are on.

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2014, 07:19 PM
lmetrucking
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 88 FLHS running poorly when lights are on.

Hi Guys. I have a stock 1988 FLHS with the only add on being drag pipes. (previous owner.) The bike misses when the lights are turned on, even more if the fog lights are on. It has had this problem for the 2 months that I have owned it, however it would run fine after thoroughly warmed up. Now it misses and carries on whenever lights are on. Any thoughts? I do have my service and parts manual, but I'm no pro mechanic. Going to a mechanic is not an option due to being stubborn and wanting to fix it myself. Any thoughts appreciated.

Old 08-27-2014, 07:37 PM
Dr.Hess
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,706 Likes on 1,343 Posts

Do an electrical system check per the sticky. If that is OK, then it is likely a bad ground connection or a dirty/corroded connector somewhere. Check the voltage at the coil positive with the lights on and off. Oh, and on your bike, the lights should be on all the time, unless the wiring was hacked. Or are you talking about some other lights?

Old 08-27-2014, 07:51 PM
Tom84FXST
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 18,194 Likes on 5,396 Posts

Originally Posted by Dr.Hess
Oh, and on your bike, the lights should be on all the time, unless the wiring was hacked. Or are you talking about some other lights?
When the government mandated that headlights be on all the time, Harley simply added a jumper wire on the ignition switch...many people removed it so the two positions on the switch actually worked like the older bikes...gotta be low voltage...do the tests he suggests.

Old 08-27-2014, 09:38 PM
lmetrucking
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My bike has an "on" position and a "lights" position, it also has a acess. position that kills the bike, but mine is without the fairing or associated Police add- ons.