Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

05 Roadking upgrade, now engine noise?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2008, 09:23 PM
05flhpi
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 Roadking upgrade, now engine noise?

Evening everyone: I'll try to make this short and simple.

I have an 05 Roadking police which I purchased new in Feb 05. I put 2400 miles on it in the05 season, then in summer 06 wanted an upgrade. Heres what I did...

Samson Rolled thunder slip-ons
Vance and Hines Tru-dual headers
HD 95" Big Bore cylinders
JE 10.25:1 Pistons
.022 inch steel head gaskets
Headquarters HQ-0034 cams
Power Commander III usb

thats it...everything else stock. I am an auto mechanic by trade so I tackled the job myself (had to buy all the neat cam tools and such) After I got done, I changed the oil to 20W50 NON synthetic (to help seat the rings) and fired it up. All was well except some not loud, but now noticible (sounds like) valve tick. I decided to see if it would quiet itself with a little mileage. That brings us to now. I have put 650 miles on the upgrade...great power...but still noticeable valve noise or ticking. Last week I installed a set of HQ adjustable push rods AND 4 new stock HD lifters (just incase) to see if I could "adjust" out the noise. No luck.. I am starting to think its not lifter noise... I tried a little over adjusting and a little under with the push rods, no change in sound. Again, not TICK TICK loud, but enough to make me concered. I know Harleys sound like a sewing machine and stuff, I rode mine stock and know that sound. But the best example is, its like 3 times tick-y-er than stock. Oh, I even switched to mobile 1 20W50 to see if the synthetic would help, no change. One more thing, it seems to be loudest at 2500 rpm or so...If i back rpms down a little, it gets quieter, if I go to about 3000, it gets quieter. Everythi