Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

How To: Tuning a Keihin Butterfly Carb

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2009, 02:11 PM
chengdave2003
Advanced
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default How To: Tuning a Keihin Butterfly Carb

I started riding motorcycles in 1973 and Harley’s the next year when I bought a new 1974 Harley Sportster (XLH) from Harley of Atlanta. Soon afterward I joined the military and found I couldn’t afford insurance on the bike anymore (required by my bank where I had the loan from) and had to sell it in 1978. When I reenlisted I received a reenlistment bonus I bought a new 1979 Harley Lowrider (FXS) from Harley of Beaumont (Texas) that was equipped with the Keihin butterfly carb. Although I eventually put new exhausts and air filter on it, I didn’t have to rejet it as I could make the necessary adjustments with the air/fuel (air/fuel) mixture screw (Back then they didn’t have the seal covering the screw.). Eventually, due to salt corrosion (I used to take the bike on deck of the ship when we sailed to a different port for an extended time) the air/fuel mixture screw seized and I couldn’t get it free so I changed out the Keihin with a Mikuni carb. The Mikuni was easy to rejet and adjust and I kept that carb until I sold the bike in late 1999. In 2007 I bought a 1987 Harley FXR equipped with the Keihin butterfly carb that had less than 20,000 miles on it. The previous owner chromed it up some and put a new exhaust system on it, but had done nothing to the carb. After I bought it I realized that it was running very lean (white plugs, deceleration popping, hard starting, etc). So in the spring I decided to rebuild and re-jet the carb.