Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

Won't idle without choke out

Old 06-09-2009, 01:36 AM
strantor
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Won't idle without choke out

Hey everybody, what's up? This is my first post. I have a '98 xl1200c that won't idle without choke out. I had it stored out at my dad's place in San Antonio, TX for about 6 months and I forgot to put stabil in it to prevent gum up. I put some carb cleaner in the gas and ran the p*ss out of it from San Antonio to my place in Houston but she still wouldn't idle without a little choke. I started playing around with the carb and ended up in the garage with the carb in as many pieces as a carb can be in. This is not a good idea because I've never messed with a carb before. I have a general idea of what it does, and I payed attention to how it came apart, so putting it back together shouldn't be an issue (that I can forsee). I read this article: http://www.harley-performance.com/ha...arburetor.html and I searched for some older posts about carb tuning (after having already torn the carb apart) so I think can handle tuning it once I put it back together. I am posting this just to see if anybody can tell me anything specific to look for while I've got it apart. I have sprayed brake cleaner through every little hole and tunnel, took a few needle screws out & cleaned them, sprayed myself in the eyes, and checked the seals (they look good). I didn't check the idle set screw or the spark plug before dismantling the carb, and now I'm thinking that one of those was probably the the problem.