Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Tech & Mechanical Forum > Exhaust System Topics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by: Samson Exhaust

P

Old 04-15-2010, 10:54 PM
Hang Around
Default TC88 build tips required

Hi,

I am new to HD forums.com, however I have been an avid reader of previous threads for quite some time.

I am looking for some assistance on my current build. I have started building a chopper and am using a 2005 twin cam 88A as a motor. I bought this motor with only 5 miles on it as a trail of sparks left the bike unrideable. There was some damage to the fins on both the jugs and heads so I needed to change them out.

I have purchased a set of Screamin Eagle Heads (part# 16901-99 & 16902-99). I am told that these 1999 heads will work with the 2005.

I found a set of barrels with 5 miles on them off a 2006 to use and am planning on replacing the pistons with Screamin Eagle high compression pistons (part#22156-99).

I have not selected a cam as of yet, but I have used the andrews gear drive with much success in the past.

This bike will also be equipped with a weber downdraft carb.

I am looking for any tips or comments from anyone in the KNOW. Although this is my 4th chopper build, I have not had to build an engine as of yet. Infact the last time I had my motor apart it was an 82 shovel that blew a wrist pin keeper. First HD, first weekend out. lol

I see that there is a different head gasket used after 2005, was it thicker, thinner?

Thanks in advance.
sfh13
Old 04-16-2010, 01:01 PM
Ultimate HDF Member

Not being familiar with those PNs, can't comment much on the heads; which design? chamber volume? valve size? etc.