Flathead A place to talk about Flathead motors.

Leaks, leaks, leaks - tech questions for Harley WLA WLC WL experts

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2012, 02:41 PM
HarleyWLA1944
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaks, leaks, leaks - tech questions for Harley WLA WLC WL experts

Good morning,

I am new to this forum as I've just recently purchased a beautifully restored Harley WLA from 1944. I've been driving Harleys for most of my life but I am new to the flatheads. So, please accept my appologies for any "rookie" type questions.

Been driving the WLA for about 100 miles and now the first weak spots show up.

The following leaks have occured and I would like, before I unwrap all my tools, ask for your experience and wisdom on gas and oil leaks on a WLA.

1.) Dripping gas from petrol filter lower cap
There is gas dripping from the lower cap of the petrol filter (see photo). Inside the cap there is a cork gasket but obviously it does not do a good job.
Questions: Are there any recommandations as to any other kind of gasket? Or should I simply tighten the nut super-tight? I have already changed the fuel tap as the initial fuel tap leaked as well.

2.) Dripping oil from the metal oil lines / linkages
There is oil dripping from almost every metal oil line at the linkages.
Questions: Are there any gaskets within the linkages that I could replace? Or is this simply a matter of re-tightening all linkages?
Furhtermore: Would you advocate using "Loctite 542" and put it on the thread prior to screwing on the linkage to avoid these oil leaks?

3.) Oil splashes on cylinder head
There are a number of oil splashes on the cylinder head. Cannot say for sure where they come from. Either the oil comes from the linkage to the oil tank as mentioned in question two. Or could there be oil coming out of the cylinder heads where the cylinder head bracket is being mounted?

4.) Dripping oil from the transmission/kicker arm