Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

caliper bore, master cylinder bore?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2008, 09:30 PM
Roadkill73
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default caliper bore, master cylinder bore?

Ok, I have a 93 softail. I bought it a bunch of years ago and have had my problem since I bought it, but now I finally decided to fix it. I have a PM front master cylinder and a JayBrake 4 piston caliper, the problem is that when the guy I got the bike from bought the stuff, I don't think he matched them up correctly. The front brake has always been harder than hell to squeeze, and it's almost completely useless as far as stopping goes. I know they make different size bores for the master cylinder and the caliper. I'm thinking that he used a master sylinder with too small a bore to make the 4 piston caliper work. I've tried locating part numbers on the master cylinder and the caliper so that I could find out the specs on them, but can't locate any marking other than the brand names. If I remove the brake lines and measure the outlet and inlet holes on both, will that be what the bore sizes are? Anythoughts or suggestions are aprreciated.

Old 05-02-2008, 03:59 AM
Ribcracker
Tourer
Default RE: caliper bore, master cylinder bore?

4 piston calipers use the same bore matercylinders as single piston or 6 psiton for that matter. Forn the sound sof it you have exatly the oposite probelm
I expect whatyou have is a master cylinder for a twin disc set up.
There are 2 things that effect how effective a master cyinder/ caliper set up works. One is the mechanical leverage you get from the brake lever pushing on the end of the master cylinder, whuch is all about length of lever and the postion of the fulcrum.