General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cycle Gear bad experience

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2014, 03:53 PM
Silvio
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Cycle Gear bad experience

I decided it was time to upgrade my head and the Shoei Neotec was my choice.

Online research showed that prices were pretty consistent everywhere, so being an instant gratification kind of guy, I went to the closest Cycle Gear store in Laurel, Maryland to see if they had what I wanted in stock. I have had little experience with them, but it was close and I could have it now.

I went in and the guy working did not greet me as he did everyone else I heard come in the store. I stood looking at the helmets for about five minutes and even though there were only a few other people there, he just stood looking out the front window and did not ask if I needed help as I expected he would.

After a while, not seeing a Neotec on their wall, I walked up to him where he was leaning against the counter, looking out the window. I stood less than two feet from him for about 30 seconds and he refused to acknowledge me. I just stood there and finally, he could not ignore me and asked if he could help me.

I asked if they had Neotecs in stock and he said they did, asking my size. He looked through some boxes and they did not have the size and color I wanted so I said, "OK" and walked out. I'm actually glad they didn't have it because, despite being offended, I wanted it bad enough I would have bought it. As it is, they got none of my money and never will.

I can only conclude one of two things:

1 - the guy is just a lazy jerk.

2 - because he greeted other customers and asked what they wanted, and all of them were metric riders, and he saw me ride up on my Street Bob, I suspect he has a thing against Harley riders.

Maybe that's paranoid, but that's where the facts lead me.