General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine pinging

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2014, 04:28 PM
Norcalsvt
Cruiser
Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Engine pinging

Hey everyone, I have a 09 fat bob with the stage 1 setup from harley. Recently I installed some vance and hines short shorts with the optional quiet baffles. In the previous setup and the current setup at wot in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, I swear I can hear some pinging. I am in Cali and I run our premium which is 91. Looking in to getting it dyno tuned down the road. Any thoughts? Mabe run some octane booster? For the time being? I'm new at all of this so any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Rob.

Old 10-02-2014, 04:35 PM
Crimson
Road Master
Received 38 Likes on 31 Posts

Definitely need a tuner with both air cleaner and pipes changed out.

Old 10-02-2014, 04:49 PM
Mr HOG
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You don't say whether or not it was tuned by Harley after the stage one. If so, then just changing the pipes should not have made much difference. If they just did a flash tune then it probably wasn't right the first time. You will probably have to bit the bullet and get a custom dyno tune if you want it right. There are not short cuts to getting the right tune. Don't waste your money on fuel additives.

Old 10-02-2014, 04:50 PM
bullast
Road Captain
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts

Agree with crimson.

Running the bike too lean will burn up pistons (worst case).

I would run the stock A/C until you get the tuning sorted out, just to be safe.

Old 10-02-2014, 10:22 PM
nightrain1983
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Try running different brands of gas through it. Mine pings on anything other than she'll.

Old 10-02-2014, 11:42 PM
Crimson
Road Master
Received 38 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by nightrain1983