General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

25W70 oil in 100+ ci motors?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2015, 06:19 AM
nolabel
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 25W70 oil in 100+ ci motors?

Can anyone venture wise commentary on whether large air cooled ci motors (like the after-market S&S or Ultima ranges, the +100ci), if being run in regularly hot temps (like 90F+, 30c+), can benefit from using oils like a 25W70 (like the Penrite Enduro) or diesel 20W40 (assuming regular oil and filter changes especially, shorter time-frame for mineral over synthetic)??? And if there is benefit from such oils in such engines, are those benefits lost or even downsides incurred when the temps come back down, say below 60F (15c) or even below 50F (10c)?

Old 01-24-2015, 06:40 AM
Tn.Heritage
Grand HDF Member
Received 183 Likes on 131 Posts

Well I'm no expert by any means but I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express , sorry I couldn't resist. But back to your legitimate question. I built a 106 last winter in my 2010 SG before I traded and it was using a little oil after the build, so a friend suggested a straight 50wt so I tried that, wrong !! My lifters like to have never pumped up. Lifters were comps 850-1's by the way. Anyway I swapped back to 20w-50 and solved the problem somewhat but they were never the same after that. The reason for the oil usage imo was those paper thin rings on the wiseco pistons I used, never again but I think your 1st choice is way too thick. 2nd choice would be better but why not just use a good syn. 20w-50 and forget about it ?

Old 01-24-2015, 06:49 AM
Pine Tree

Received 1,964 Likes on 463 Posts

Originally Posted by nolabel