General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Future Harley rider needs some advice...

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2015, 09:02 PM
razor02
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Future Harley rider needs some advice...

Hey guys! I hope I am posting this in the right place...
So I've been riding for 3 years now, I started on a ninja 250 and currently have a GSX-R 600. Anyhow, I am now looking to buy a harley. I always wanted a harley to start with, but had to go with a crotch rocket for cost. I'm currently looking at the harley sportster iron 883s... The bike fits my budget and gets me in the door to becoming a harley rider.
My 3 questions are-
One, I found two irons at my local dealer, ones a 2014 amber whiskey color with security system and 1k miles. The other is a 2013 in black denim, no security system and 2k miles. Both bikes are priced at $7,998.. so exactly the same price. Only major difference is I like the amber whiskey color (black seems to be most popular so I want something different) Is $7,998 a good price? Since they are only a year apart and 1k mileage difference I figure they are about the same. Should I try to talk them down any or is that a pretty low price to start with?

Second question- The 2014 amber whiskey one has mid controls while the 2013 black denim has forwards. I'm 6'2 so I like the feel of the forwards better, but I like the amber whiskey color better. I asked the dealer how much it would be to put forwards on the 2014 and he told me $800 OTD. Is it really that much? or can buy the part myself and save some money? also how hard is it to change from mids to forwards? Im pretty good with a wrench so I dont see it as much of a challenge but was just looking for some insight from people who have done the switch.