General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this a good deal?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2015, 03:40 PM
londonman
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this a good deal?

Hi Guys,

I am not sure if this is the right section for this thread, mods can move it if they wish.

Anyway, I am completely new to Harleys. I would not even consider myself an experienced biker. I am just way too busy. However, I do love and enjoy bikes. I never ever considered treating myself to a Harley because I always thought they cost a fortune, although they can do, there are many that are affordable to average Joes' like me - I realised recently.

Anyway, I have been wanting to buy a nice bike for several years, and have always postponed it because we needed the money for this or that (married you see ). Anyway, I was going to get a Moto Guzzi V7, and I saw a Harley on the street, and I thought I should check out what they cost. And I was very pleasantly surprised, as it cost exactly the same as the Guzzi.

I initially saw the Sportster 883 Iron, and I loved the look. It suited me. And the price was within my reach as well. However, I went to the showroom, and I saw the 48, and I found the 48 was more comfortable, because I am 5,7" tall, so I could put my feet down flat, which is important to me. The only thing that I didn't like about the 48 was the colour. It was shiny black, and I preferred the matt black of the Iron. However, I realised that this was going to be a long term investment for me, I need something to do, and I am going to want to learn and customise it over the years.