General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

General discussion -- Zumo GPS, Sena SMH-10 headset, and cellphone

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2015, 06:19 PM
Redlegvzv
Stellar HDF Member
Received 672 Likes on 372 Posts
Default General discussion -- Zumo GPS, Sena SMH-10 headset, and cellphone

I have a Harley Sportster 2014 Superlow 1200T cycle with the Zumo 665 mount. Having a GPS is important to me, as I don't like getting lost here in Southern California. So when I bought my Sportster I wanted the best GPS setup I could manage.

I actually was able to snag an extra Garmin 665 unit as a spare. Over the past year I have been getting this unit figured out, and I thought it might help someone out there if I posted my various (not very ingenious) findings in one place. Alternatively, if someone out there has a better way of doing things, let me know as I am still learning.

1. Setting up Zumo 665 to Sena SMH-10 and iPhone 6 Plus for GPS and MP3 music.

As I explained in an earlier post, the best way that I have found to do this is to: a) Bluetooth connect the Zumo to the iPhone; and b) then connect the Sena SMH-10 to the Zumo.

A. When connecting the Zumo to the iPhone, connect the iPhone to the "Phone" setting in the Zumo Bluetooth menu. (Obvious, but what I'm saying is do not connect the iPhone to "Audio" which is the other option.)

B. When connecting the Zumo to the Sena, you want to connect it to the Sena as though it were a cellphone on the Sena menu. This will ensure that you get stereo. See Section 6.1 in the Sena menu, which explains that when pairing as a cellphone you are also pairing as a stereo device. This is done (as explained in the Sena menu) by first pressing the phone button for about 5 seconds until pairing occurs.