General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Texting drivers are worrying me more.

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2015, 07:14 AM
C908
Road Warrior
Received 48 Likes on 38 Posts
Default Texting drivers are worrying me more.

I'm wondering if any of you are getting more concerned for your safety with the never ending increase of texting drivers. It amazes me how we have arrived at this epidemic that we must deal with daily. Yesterday I probably saw more than 25 people looking down texting while they were driving. I was walking my dog and a lady failed to yield for us in a designated area where we had the right of way. I clearly saw her texting as she went past us. As much as I love to ride I am starting to re-evaluate how and where I ride. I have been riding since 1974 and feel like it is more dangerous now than it has ever been before. I felt much safer dealing with stoned drivers back in the 70's. At least with the stoned drivers most of them were driving slow, both hands on the wheel and looking straight ahead. I really don't understand the obsession people have with texting. I have a 30 year old neighbor lady with a 5 year old and a new born in her vehicle that I witnessed texting at an intersection. I could go on and on but I won't. It may come to a point where I question if I want to continue the risk of riding my bike. Anyone else feel this way ?

Old 09-24-2015, 07:18 AM
scarey
Advanced
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

I agree totally,it is beyond ridiculous ,the constant need to be attached /connected to phones ,I think this is a whole new impaired driving & worse,because as you said,at least stoned drivers are looking at the road,& lets not forget the driving with hoods up on sweatshirts & earphones in.

Old 09-24-2015, 07:25 AM
Chipster27
Advanced
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts