General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Restoring aluminum rims and protective coating

Old 10-05-2015, 12:25 PM
Gee
Tourer
Received 100 Likes on 41 Posts
Default Restoring aluminum rims and protective coating

Over the weekend I had my tire off to get new tread put on and to remove the scares that last winter riding had made on them. The process was to use wet/dry sand paper in 600g, 1500g, then 2000g. I then used the drill and buffing pads with a cleaning compound and then a polishing compound. The final step I used was to apply the Everbrite Protecta Clear coating on the freshly cleaned aluminum. This is the first time I have used the product and was real pleased with the turn out. I have no experience concerning how long it will last. The research I did before I decided to try the product was positive and was the main reason I decided to try it. The coating is suggested to last a couple of years leaving the same shine to the polished part as when you first applied the coating. Instead of needing to polish or apply wax through out the year. It is said that all is needed is some soap and water to clean the area the coating was applied and the same shine is still there as when you first applied it. That sounded nice to me. You can do some research if you are thinking about protecting your parts if you wish.

Below are the pictures after the cleaning and applying the coating to the rim. I did not have pictures of the rear rim before I started the sanding process so I put in pictures of what the front rim looks like which is similar but not as bad as what the rear rim looked like. Prior to sanding I did attempt some less harsh metal cleaning products but they did not get deep enough to remove the marks on the rims.

Items used for the cleaning and polishing of the rim.

Prior to cleaning