General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Harley stops shipping MY16 bikes until

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2015, 10:32 AM
HazyHog
Road Captain
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Harley stops shipping MY16 bikes until

January 2016 to most cold-weather dealers. I thought this was an interesting article on the current state of sales.

http://blogs.barrons.com/stockstowat...rrons&ru=yahoo

Old 11-24-2015, 10:39 AM
wndchsr2
Road Captain
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

I work in the auto manufacturing industry for various OEM's and the decrease in sales from Harley is nothing like the swings we see in the auto industry.

Especially given that Harley now has a little competition in their target market. That competition will be a good thing for everyone I think.

Seriously doubt that the slight decrease your seeing in sales is the beginning of the death spiral at Harley that the sky is falling crowd is spouting.

Old 11-24-2015, 10:41 AM
Twospot
Road Captain
Received 34 Likes on 31 Posts

No surprise at all. They cut inventory last year as well and just never picked up the sales slack. It's just dropped more. And they think dumping more money into marketing is gonna help. HA!

Old 11-24-2015, 10:53 AM
0maha
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,667 Likes on 1,660 Posts

Originally Posted by Twospot
And they think dumping more money into marketing is gonna help.
In business, there is an old saying: "When you are having a bad year, just sell your way through it".

Old 11-24-2015, 10:58 AM
Twospot
Road Captain
Received 34 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by 0maha
In business, there is an old saying: "When you are having a bad year, just sell your way through it".
True, but even the most non-motorcyclist knows who Harley is. There is no one better at marketing so to me it's pissing up a rope for them.

Old 11-24-2015, 11:01 AM
wndchsr2
Road Captain