General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does color matter to you?

Old 01-02-2016, 12:10 AM
CityRider76
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Does color matter to you?

In terms of motorcycles, of course....

I have been ridding an FZ6 for a few years and have been thinking of getting a harley for a while now. Still can't decide on which one yet, but I'm sure it'll happen sometime this year. Anyway, when I first got my FZ, I really didn't like that it was red, but it grew on me and now I really don't care about it. Over the last few months, as I look at Harley's on craigslist I found a wide glide recently that had everything I wanted on it, but it was yellow. A yellow wide glide. Doesn't necessarily look bad, but yellow?

I love the looks of a yellow on certain machines. For example, I would have no problems buying a yellow GSX-R1000 or any other sport bike in that color, but a cruiser? Not sure why, but I would have a problem owning a cruiser that was yellow.

Any one else feel this way? I know that many riders don't want their bike to look like the 'cookie cutter harley', but would you want a yellow harley?

Old 01-02-2016, 12:17 AM
dickey
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,473 Likes on 2,475 Posts

Certain Harleys look good in yellow, some look hideous. it depends on how much "painted parts" are on the bike. Yellow Sporty or Superglide OK; yellow Ultra definite NO!

I had a yellow Vette & it would be my first choice if I were buying a new one nowadays. A yellow pickup or Crown Vic...definitely NOT!

Would NOT buy a bike if I didn't like the color, unless it was the only one available.

Old 01-02-2016, 12:18 AM
bdtaylor1979
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 228 Likes on 186 Posts

I have a few favorite colors but I have seen other colors on bikes that I would have never thought would look good but I actually liked them. So I would have to see the color on a bike to decide.