General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Doable or stupid? Thanks for your help

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2016, 05:26 AM
Russell Peagler
Cruiser
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Doable or stupid? Thanks for your help

New member here. Looking for some advice. I'm a photographer from Tokyo. Born in South Carolina. I'm going to be taking pictures in the US from March to end of April. (45days).

I want to take a bike from SC to CA and then back from CA to SC. Round trip in 45 days.

I've never been on a bike. I've never owned a bike. I have a motorcycle permit.

My plan is as follows.
Buy the bike and get it registered and insured. Practice for a week or two and take and hopefully pass the license test. And then leave on the trip. I will take secondary roads. And will go south in March and north in April on the way home. I will of course buy all of the necessary protective gear. I am 35, I have a kid so needless to say I will be extremely careful. I am a very careful driver, I'm not the popping wheelies showing off type. What do you all think is this like an instant death sentence? Doable?

I'm looking at a 883 iron or sportster 48. I'm 6'4 and know it will be cramped, but all I can afford. I will be selling it when I'm done. Will be heading back to Tokyo.

I understand that it will be a tiring trip and cold in the north. I think that would add more fun to the situation. I climb mountains in the winter and sleep in a three season tent while doing so. Three months in Tibet, never on a bike. Three months in India 5 dollar hotels the whole time. Rode on the back of a bike there once. If that counts... Any help would be appreciated. I only have 45 days to get the license and do the trip. I could rent a car but that's not really an option for how I want to photograph the states. Long story.

Thank you,
Russell

Old 01-19-2016, 05:27 AM
Russell Peagler
Cruiser