General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ape Hanger Fitment

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2016, 03:47 PM
digidoggie18
Intermediate
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Ape Hanger Fitment

Hello all,

I just started getting into bikes and bought a 2014 Fat Bob. I am wanting to do ape hangers because leaning forward with the stock bars agitates my right shoulder. I have heard the are much more comfortable as well. Basically I was wanting someone to chime in on what would be a good size. I'm a 6ft tall guy, my arms are long and I was thinking 14" bars might be the way to go however, I'm still learning to ride somewhat so I'm not trying to sacrifice handling with bars that are too tall...

Any opinions from anyone?

Old 01-23-2016, 03:50 PM
Iceman24
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 2,229 Likes on 1,628 Posts

Body height isn't really a good measuring point b/c everyone's torso & arm reach is a little different. Best thing you can do is sit on the bike, place your hands in a position that feels comfortable and then have someone measure down to the top of your riser. This will give you a reference point for what size bar height to shoot for...good luck & welcome.

Old 01-23-2016, 05:01 PM
rgrmike14
Cruiser
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by Iceman24
Body height isn't really a good measuring point b/c everyone's torso & arm reach is a little different. Best thing you can do is sit on the bike, place your hands in a position that feels comfortable and then have someone measure down to the top of your riser. This will give you a reference point for what size bar height to shoot for...good luck & welcome.