General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

soon to be owner of 2000 Harley sportster 883.

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2016, 04:39 PM
gentlejax
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default soon to be owner of 2000 Harley sportster 883.

Im new to bikes. havnt owned one in many years. Dont know anything about Harleys but I posted a wanted to buy add and I have a man with 2 different bikes he would sell me.

1st is a 1993 Honda Nighthawk cb750. its mint. he got it in 08 with less than 1000 miles from a collector . since then he has put around 13K on it. it looks like new from the pics. tires are new.

2nd is a 2000 sportster 883. it also in great shape. has a different seat than original. needs a new rear tire. clean bike as well.

the guy has several more bikes so he is making me a decent offer to get them out of storage .

He wants $1800 for the Honda and $2000 for the 883. I want to get the 883 first off cause the resale is higher and it has 1 carb instead of 4 so simple is better/.

Since this is the harley forum I am just looking for advice on what I need to look for or what I need to change on the 883. I have read something about rubber engine mounts as a improvement on the 06 models or something like that.

I want to get the harley but I also want to enjoy it soon as possible and with the least amount of issue. I talked to the guy for a while and he seems to be very knowledgeable on both bikes.

Old 02-13-2016, 05:05 PM
gatorlaw
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 398 Likes on 124 Posts

Honda cb 750 is a very good bike and the asking price isn't bad. It may be a better option than a sporty that needs new tires...

Old 02-13-2016, 05:06 PM
baka1969
Extreme HDF Member

Received 703 Likes on 466 Posts