General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Total noob looking to buy first Harley

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2016, 08:58 AM
jgn2112
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Total noob looking to buy first Harley

I looked over this forum and hopefully I'm posting this in the right area. I didn't see any similar threads.
So I've wanted a Harley for 15 years and I'm finally in a place where I can look to get one. Considering I know very little about Harleys, or motorcycles in general for that matter, I've been researching. A popular social website aggregator (I didn't want to name it as I don't know if that's poor form here) has a good sticky post on tips for buying used, and another post on things to look for on a bike with no service history. To avoid a post that's way too open ended, can someone tell me if I'm at least on the right track when looking for a good, used Harley, and what to ask when I go to check it out? Here's the very short version of what I'm up to..
  1. Do you have the service records/history?
  2. When was it serviced last?
  3. Any major repairs?
  4. Has it ever been dropped or in an accident?
  5. Does it have a clean/clear title?
  6. What modifications does it have?
  7. How did you arrive at the sales price?
Does this seem reasonable? What am I missing or what else should I be asking?

Thanks!

Old 06-05-2016, 09:24 AM
ChickinOnaChain
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 3,070 Likes on 2,554 Posts

First, there's a few threads about this. They're just not "out there" to see.
Next, people will always think their bike and the mods they've done to them, are all worth what they're asking. Most/some won't be 100% truthful, since telling the absolute truth might kill the sale.
Finally, what you're asking isn't unreasonable...just be prepared.

Old 06-05-2016, 09:31 AM
show-n-go
Road Master
Received 185 Likes on 135 Posts