General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rider down - but all is well!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2016, 03:59 PM
Jason Oates
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Rider down - all is well! (photo heavy)

Well, I've hit another milestone in my riding career, and unfortunately unlike finishing the MSF course, buying a bike, first long ride, etc., I had my first accident yesterday.

I've been riding for three years now with no issues, always careful and observant but it really does take "just that one time" to have an issue. Luckily someone was watching over me and there was unbelievably small damage to me and my baby.

I was riding in Virginia, on the GORGROUS Rt 211 going into Luray, a route that I've been on numerous times with two bikes. I was going uphill, slowing down to prepare going into a nice curve, apparently a bit too fast, continued to lean and eventually lost traction on the rear wheel and began to slide. Luckily there was no oncoming traffic and the bike and I slid to the next shoulder. Again, luckily, I was able to get right up, did a self-check and was mostly ok (smaller abrasion on my knee). After making sure I was ok, I tried to get the bike right up, nope. With the angle it was on, it ain't gonna happen with just me, and any technique, haha. What sucks then, NO cell phone signal! Ugh. Long walk and a nice passerby got me uphill and then I walked back down a good ways. Eventually a tow truck arrived, helped me right it up and SOMEHOW there was no serious damage and I was able to ride her home! Obviously a little shaken, it was oddly a therapeutic to ride back! And hey, that annoying exhaust rattle is gone now! Ha