General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice for my first HD.

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2016, 03:36 PM
adm
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,460 Likes on 1,407 Posts

Originally Posted by Fingerpuk
Hello.

I need some help. I've been bitten by the Harley bug after seeing a lovely Iron 883 recently. I've been riding for 18 years, all sorts of of bikes. I currently own a couple of Ducati's and want to add a more gentle ride into the collection.

But, the 883 can't be it. Research is telling me they are terribly made and rust. In fact this morning I had to ask the salesman in two dealers why brand new display bikes were already rusting in the show room. Not sure what the deal is with this model.

So I'm looking for a stripped down, single seat, tank higher than the bars, bike.

Any suggestions? I'm very new to this marque.

Hey fella,

Don't listen to the negative dickwads, they seem to live in fear of trolls.

If you are interested in a Harley and come from Ducs and want a more relaxing ride, I would say you should take a look at a Dyna - more specifically a Fat Bob or a Low Rider S. Both have that kind of "muscle" look that the Iron 883 has and both have low drag bars (rather than the fairly ludicrous apes that many harley riders seem to love).

They are also bigger, more comfortable bikes than the 883 - which you might appreciate coming from a Duc. The Dyna is also a great platform for handling (in relative Harley terms) and customisation if you want to go that way. There are many, many ways to increase performance or change the whole look of the bike.

Oh yeah - and they are big twins, so 1690cc for the Fat Bob and 1800 for the Low Rider S. If you get the Sporty, you run the risk of ending up saying "why didn't I get a big twin" later down the road.