General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trike vs Sidecar

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2017, 05:40 PM
sharkey
Grand HDF Member
Received 433 Likes on 260 Posts
Default Trike vs Sidecar

Given the same motor, how do you figure a trike would perform compared to an FLH with a sidecar? I understand the skill set to operate a sidecar is obviously far more than to operate a trike, but for actual performance of the vehicle how would they compare? Anyone here ridden a late-model combo any amount of miles?

Old 01-23-2017, 06:00 PM
DianneB
Tourer
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

I have been riding an FXD with a hack for the past 2 years - haven't ridden a trike - out of my price range and I wanted it for my dog so I'd rather have her beside me.

I think a trike would be an easier ride. With a sidecar you have to hold 'opposite pressure' most of the time to stop the bike from turning toward the sidecar, even if the sidecar is properly set up. (Everything depends on the slope of the road and the direction of the wind.)

Turning away from the sidecar, you can out-corner a trike but turning toward the hack, you have to be careful or you become a 2-wheeler again

I like my hack because I have so much storage space - more than the trunk of a full-sized car. The down-side is that your riding buddies will always be asking if you can throw 'this' or 'that' in your sidecar for them.

The following users liked this post:
sharkey (01-23-2017)
Old 01-23-2017, 10:09 PM
deadhawg
Stellar HDF Member

Received 1,727 Likes on 666 Posts

I've put a lot of miles on bikes with sidecars, and a few on a trike.