General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No better time to be a rider, or a buyer.

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2017, 11:39 AM
Stretchman
Stellar HDF Member

Received 208 Likes on 129 Posts
Default No better time to be a rider, or a buyer.

I have been riding Harleys for 18 years. WHile I have had other bikes in the stable at the same time, I have been on Harleys the whole time.

My parents used to ride way back in the 70s and early 80s. They had a Shovelhead, and somewhere, I even got a pic of me sitting on it in 1981, the day before I went off to basic training. While overseas, we used to get the biker mags, like In the Wind, and Easyriders, back when they were the ones to get. The Dave Mann art, all the pics of the road trips and runs in In The Wind, and we were all kind of hoping to be able to get in the wind as well once we made it back to the world.

In 1985, I actually tried to buy a Softail, but the finance company, then Ford Motor Credit, turned me down on the app, since I had been gone so long, and didn't have any credit. Little did I know at that time that it would be 1999 before I could actually get on a bike.

When the late 80s and early 90s came, so did the bike shortage. Bikes were running anywhere from 5 to 10 grand over MSRP, and the waiting list was about 3 years. Seems like throughout the production run of the EVO, until the twin cam came out, that even being able to find a bike an average working guy could afford was the impossible task. Harleys had always typically held their value, but in this case, they held their value plus about 5-10 K more. Softails that were going for 10K in 1985 were about 20-25K new or slightly used.