General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Here, Have Engine Noise

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2008, 10:17 PM
Fatrat03
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Here, Have Engine Noise

Hey everybody
&nbsp\\;
I just got an '03 Fatboy with 20K miles, and it's my first HD.&nbsp\\; I've been riding for 30+ years, and I've owned several metric bikes.&nbsp\\;
&nbsp\\;
Here's the problem:&nbsp\\; When the bike gets warm, it makes quite a bit of noise that sounds like it's coming from the bottom end.&nbsp\\; Kind of a grinding noise, not a knocking noise, and it's hard to pinpoint but it sounds a little louder on the cam side of the engine.&nbsp\\; I was thinking of draining the oil and seeing if there are metal particles in it.&nbsp\\; Then I thought I'd switch it to synthetic and see if that makes any difference.&nbsp\\; I heard that some of the twin cam engines around&nbsp\\;the vintage of mine had some cam bearing problems.&nbsp\\; My last bike (a 1600 Road Star) had loud enough pipes that if there was any engine noise you wouldn't&nbsp\\;have been able to hear it.&nbsp\\; This bike has Screamin' Eagle pipes, so they're pretty quiet, so the noise I'm hearing is quite apparent.&nbsp\\; Other HD riders'&nbsp\\;bikes don't have the grinding/swishing sound I'm experiencing.&nbsp\\; The sound kind of reminds me of how an ultrasound of a baby in the womb makes.&nbsp\\; You know, that swish swish swish as the baby's heart beats.
&nbsp\\;
Any thoughts or ideas?
&nbsp\\;
Thanks, Mark&nbsp\\;&nbsp\\;

Old 06-26-2008, 10:21 PM
JBaker421
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Newbie Here, Have Engine Noise

That year didn't have the worst of the cam bearing problems, but Harley has never put really good cam bearings in an engine imho. Lots of guys like to swap them for a Torrington brand bearing. Good time to get a nice cam too.
&nbsp\\;