General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any Long Islanders remember bike night at Nathan's in Oceanside

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2008, 03:56 PM
sgtjeff
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any Long Islanders remember bike night at Nathan's in Oceanside

Every Tuesday night for over since the 50's until the mid 90's. There were always over a thousand bikes there. It seemed like there was a Harley section, a crotch rocket section, and a general bike section. In the mid 90's there was a big fight between the 2 major 1% MC's and someone was stabbed. Between that and the yuppy neighbors complaining about the burnouts and wheelies & straight pipes on Long Beach Road the police started hassling everyone until bike night was no more. (I was a cop then but was on the bikers side) It was a real shame. I'm sure the storeowners loved it, especially Nathan's as they had long lines for hot dogs. Now you can count the people there on Tuesday night.
I met a lot of great guys there and there were always handouts for the upcoming poker runs, benefits, and other biker events.

Old 09-26-2008, 04:53 PM
Mandog
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Damn your old....but so am I. It moved out east to Bald Hill in Farmingville. Harleys on one side...Sport bikes on the other...and then show cars down the center. Nathans was better but the times are a changing....

Old 09-26-2008, 09:37 PM
bigjames19
Outstanding HDF Member

Thanks for the memory! I moved to Florida over a decade ago, I remember bike night Tue. and hot rod night on Wed. I used to live in Freeport!

Old 09-26-2008, 09:43 PM
sgtjeff
Cruiser

When is bike night at Bald Hill? I remember going to Bald Hill for the Blue Knights bike blessing. I'm in the Blue Knights but not that chapter. Our chapter rides out east from Nassau every Sunday for lunch and many times stop at the Maples in Manorville.