General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Loud Pipes...An observation

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2006, 12:41 PM
troglodyte
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud Pipes...An observation

I am still new at the street bike game but I have been observant of cyclists for a long time. Both engine powered and leg powered with me being one of the later and a dirt bike rider.

I have often read the loud pipe debate with interest, trying to put together the "scientific" facts on the issue (that comes from being a science teacher). You all know the issues. If you like loud pipes because you like loud pipes, I guess that is fine and you don't need any justification. I don't care for them because they are...well...loud. But I don't like seafood either...so what?

I have come to some personal conclusions. You are welcome to yours.

Louder pipes might help save lives. (How's that for riding the fence?)

My observation from a couple of nights ago.

I was driving home after dark down a well travelled six lane street. Traffic was relatively light. I was trying to watch the truck in front of me since it was my son's and we had just put enough coolant in it to limp home. That means I really wasn't watching my rearview mirrors very well (mind you I would have paid attention if I had to change lanes. I one of those hopeless defensive drivers.). As we drove along I heard a motorcycle off to my right rear. A distinctive low grumble. I looked over my shoulder and saw the Harley coming on by.

I filed this away in the, "Hey, I did hear him back there," file and kept on driving and watching the coolant stream out of my son's truck.

In just a few moments I "heard" a metric off of my right rear. You know, the kind of higher pitch whine. It wasn't very decernable but I picked it up, even with the radio on.