General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP? I'm very frustrated.

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2009, 09:19 PM
Yves
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP? I'm very frustrated.

Hey Guys,

In April, I purchased a 2009 883-Iron. Love the blacked out look and I'm new to riding so I figured it would be a good fit to get into the sport.

Today, I found out that I might not be able to ride for 6 long weeks. Why is that you wonder?! I need a part which is on back order.

Here's what happened...

I decided to upgrade to a stage 1 screaming eagle air breather & put on some black V&H staggered short shots. I'm handy enough with a wrench, so I did the install myself (which is quite simple). I didn't buy the fuelpak, so I scheduled an appointment at the local dealer to have the download to remap the EFI system.

When I first started the bike, I noticed that in neutral, it was running very rich and at high rpms. I assumed this would be corrected with the download so I just shut the bike down and figured I'd wait until I got the service done the following day.

I take the bike to the dealer and they can't seem to get a proper read on the computer. After 1 hour, they removed the new air breather and noticed that a screw which was holding the new breather in place (the proper screw for the new breather!) was sticking out the back a bit and had apparently damaged the throttle position sensor. This is what was causing the problem.

Disappointed that a screaming eagle product designed for a 2009 XL bike would damage a stock part, I asked them to just swap the part and I'll pay for it to be on my way. It turns out the throttle position sensor part number #2762901A is on back order across Canada for 6 weeks. I also called a few dealers in the states to learn the same thing. (part on backorder, but only a 3 week wait listed in their system).

My question...