General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Turn Signals and Marker Lights - is there a difference?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2011, 05:01 PM
voudoujoe
Road Captain
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Turn Signals and Marker Lights - is there a difference?

To those of you who've been around a while, these may sound like pretty dub questions. Yeah, I'm a newb.

Maryland doesn't require turn signals on motorcycles. But, as a safety and liability thing, I want them anyway. I'm putting a Wide Glide rear fender on my Fat Bob and don't really like any of the solutions I've seen for relocating turn signals if I want to keep my quick detach mount. Great Bike Gear, I think, has the best option I've seen so far, but I'm not crazy with how it looks when bags are off.

I've seen some marker lights that have potential.

So, beyond the fact that turn signals blink, what's the difference between turn signals and amber marker lights? Is the blinking relay "in" the turn signal, so you need a "turn signal" lamp for it to blink or is the blinking controller before the turn signal, so any light will do?

If it's brightness, I can remedy that with a brighter LED - essentially putting a turn signal bulb in a marker light bracket - is that correct?

Ideas, suggestions and pics are appreciated - vou

For what it's worth and for people who may search this issue, here's the DOT turn signal location requirements for motorcycles:

At or near the front—1 amber on each side of the vertical centerline at the same height, and having a minimum horizontal separation distance (centerline of lamps) of 16 inches. Minimum edge to edge separation distance between lamp and headlamp is 4 inches