General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Parking

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2012, 07:05 AM
NativeTexican
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Parking

When I took the MSC I was told you I was to only park in parking spots. I remember as a kid my dad always parked his motorcycle in the cross section at the end of parking spots. Does anyone still do this?

I have always figured that there is more than enough room to park two motorcycles in a normal parks spot but at work the guys park in the middle of a spot not allowing room for another motorcycle.

Since I am new to riding I was wanting to know what the normal practice is when it comes to parking. Do you park at the end of spots? Do you leave room in standard spots for another bike? Do you squeeze your bike beside another bike?

Old 04-10-2012, 07:09 AM
Maveric777
4th Gear

I was told that so long as there isn't an adjoining handicap parking to the spot you can park there.

Old 04-10-2012, 07:15 AM
DieTrying
3rd Gear

Technically those striped end caps are usually no parking zones. Will anyone enforce that... probably not. If I'm riding by myself I take up the whole parking space.

Old 04-10-2012, 07:22 AM
ElectraGlideSteve
Road Warrior
Received 91 Likes on 61 Posts

The stripes areas in a parking lot are no parking zones.
Back your bike into the open space, leaving the front wheel about even with the front bumper of a car, if it was parked there.

1) You can get out of the space and not worry about being blocked in.

2) The front of your bike is close enough to the front of the spot, so a car doesn't think the spot is empty and come flying into the spot and hit the bike.

3) If you leave space for another bike, who's to say he won't block you in somehow, so you can't get out?

Old 04-10-2012, 07:51 AM
AnotherBlackSG
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 48 Likes on 22 Posts

Do you park at the end of spots?