General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jiffy Stand Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2007, 12:44 AM
TattooYoo
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jiffy Stand Question

How much exactly can a jiffy stand actually hold? Ive seen guys lounging out on their bikes with their feet up on their bars
while the bike is on the jiffy stand. Ive also seen people mount the bike from the right side by standing on the footboard
and swinging their leg over. Now Im a fairly hefty guy....I kinda want to try the right side mount so I dont scuff my seat, but
Im kind of afraid of dropping the bike because of the extra weight on the jiffy stand. Any ideas?

Old 02-22-2007, 12:54 AM
tda69
Stellar HDF Member
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Jiffy Stand Question

Well....I'm no engineer and I don't know where you would find that kind of specification anyway. But if you look closely you will see that the Jiffy Stand is bolted to the frame and there is a toungue that isinserted into a groove each time the stand is deployed. Obviously the bikes weigh quite a lot, but since they are only leaning against the stand and not supporting all 800 +lbs, I'd say you should be okay if you chose to sit on the bike with the stand down. Since it leans at quite an angle, I've found trying to sit on the bike to be fairly impractical. If we were talking about a center stand that might be different.

Old 02-22-2007, 01:33 AM
Unamed
Road Master

If it can hold me and a lady, it can hold one guy, for sure. The suspension will help take the load too.

Old 02-22-2007, 01:39 AM
Tinkermc
Outstanding HDF Member

I saw a rather hefty fellow with his feet on the bars he was laying down and there seemed to support him alright, he was asleep

Old 02-22-2007, 02:30 AM
cowboy Harry
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post