General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Build with my 16 yr. old son - advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2014, 08:55 PM
jackod
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Build with my 16 yr. old son - advice

My 16 yr. old son is asking me to build a bike with him. It will be a big learning experience for both of us since I am just learning myself but, I would like to do it. Naturally he wants it to ride as well and I would expect we will have it a while.

My question is: Is there a good place to search for a bike that needs work? Can I buy a salvage bike that needs work or should I avoid a salvage title? Every search I do seems to lead me back to the salvaged bikes.

Any model of HD that would be too complicated for a couple of new guys like us? I appreciate any advice.

Old 03-05-2014, 10:30 PM
HeadoftheBeast
Road Captain
Received 23 Likes on 14 Posts

What area are you in? I see older Evos and Shovels on Craigslist pretty frequently. I'm sure you could find something that would fit the bill.

Old 03-05-2014, 10:32 PM
soft 02
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,570 Likes on 2,888 Posts

Late model Evo softail!

Old 03-06-2014, 05:24 AM
garand
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If it were me I would find a used sporty engine, transmission, forks and wheels. Then I would buy a SPS or Paughco frame, computer and wiring bundle, bars, grips, cables, brake lines, brakes, possibly a cheap MIG welder to attach tabs for mounting rear fender or tank etc. Buy a good book or DVD on building bikes.

Old 03-06-2014, 08:10 AM
AJSHOVEL
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 10,381 Likes on 4,119 Posts

A lot depends on how much mechanical ability and knowledge you have. If you're a knowledgable "shop guy" and work on cars and such and are good at it, have most of the tools, etc., then making the switch to a bike won't be a big deal with a good shop manual.