General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Love heel toe shifting, why so many haters? Big feet?

Old 05-08-2014, 05:19 PM
128auto
Extreme HDF Member
Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Talking Love heel toe shifting, why so many haters? Big feet?

Heel toe shifting in action, I made this video to show my 13yo son how I shift on motorcycles. Tell me why you hate it, heel toe shifting is a awesome!

Old 05-08-2014, 05:35 PM
Fozzy4325
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't hate it. but I don't like it. As I am new to harleys I feel its redundant and not required. I have always used a toe shift only. I also have a tendency of hitting it when moving my foot around for comfort.

I've just removed it and put a space lug onto it.

And I have a bit a fear for it as well. When I have the bike over scraping the plates the side of my foot scrapes some times. When i was younger the rubber on my foot gripped the rode and sent my foot backwards. with this it wouldn't send it backwards it would just bend trap it and bend it.

Old 05-08-2014, 05:37 PM
jeffreydsilver
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 163 Likes on 112 Posts
Default Take The Time - Set Them Up

I think that most likely a lot of the bikers who don't like the heel / toe shifter don't take the time or bother to adjust and set them up to fit their feet, boots and riding style. All the talk about having a hard time getting into neutral and how unnatural the set up feels is a shame. I was surprised that the dealer (at least mine) didn't take the time to bring a wrench out to the brand new bike when I bought it and adjust EVERYTHING to fit me.

You would think that they would adjust the bars and levers (all of them) to fit the new owner.

I ended up installing the extended shift levers and after 2 or 3 tries got the levers to the heights I was most comfortable with. Finding neutral is almost to EZ now!

Old 05-08-2014, 05:39 PM