General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to HD - Making a decision...

Old 05-17-2014, 07:32 PM
MikeNH
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to HD - Making a decision...

Hey all - I'm new to HD and looking for some feedback/advice from those with a bit more wisdom on the subject. I've had it in my head after looking through some of the local shops and on craigslist that I was going to get a Street Bob, but today I came across a Springer that really caught my eye.

Right now it seems like the springer and a new street bob are pretty close in price, but other than that they seem like really different choices, so I'd be interested in knowing what else there is to consider when comparing the two:

2005 Springer
~4500 miles
Mint
Basically fully decked out with all the options I would want
$14,000 w/ 30 day warranty from pretty reputable local dealership
Pics here: http://images.traderonline.com/img/5...mb_770x574.jpg
http://images.traderonline.com/img/5...mb_770x574.jpg

2014 Street Bob
0 miles
In order to be how I'd like it, I would like spend some more $$ for a two-up seat/back rest, different exhaust, and either highway pegs or forward controls.
Factory Warranty
Guessing around $16,000 + labor

Anything I should know when comparing the two? Is one better short-term/long-term value/etc? Is the price on the springer (assuming its pretty much mint) fair? Will it hold it's value better/worse than the new street bob? In all honesty, the springer really does it for me, definitely a classy bike and you don't see too many around here like that, but not being a Harley guy I want to make sure that I'm not nuts for paying basically the same price for a 10 year old bike than I would for a brand new one...

Any and all info any of you would share would be greatly appreciated!

Old 05-17-2014, 07:41 PM
gatorlaw
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 398 Likes on 124 Posts