General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Primary Chain

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2014, 12:22 PM
papapuskit1
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Primary Chain

Ordering a new primary chain, it has 41 links, but it the double chain, so do I need to order the 82 link replacement? I have a rigid frame, evo motor and a 4spd tranny, it doesn't have a chain adjuster in it, can I put one in it or do I have to buy a new system with it already in it? Thanks

Old 05-31-2014, 12:46 PM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member
Received 47,917 Likes on 17,474 Posts

There's 2 primary chains , one shorter for the FXR close primary system . If you have the the more common setup it with standard sprockets it should be the 82 link chain .

Old 05-31-2014, 01:05 PM
papapuskit1
Novice

Thanks I'm new to the older bikes, always had new ones. The chain that was on it would rub the bottom of the primary case it had so much slack, I don't know if it was stretched that bad or needs to be adjusted, had a link busted. Can you adjust the tranny to get the slack out?

Old 05-31-2014, 01:10 PM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member

Not unless it's an open primary you can't and then all bets are off as to which chain you need . Use Photobucket or another online picture service to post a shot or 2 of your primary & gut and I can steer you the right way for what you have . At this point without eyes on it's guess work and yours is a custom build it sounds like .

Old 05-31-2014, 01:43 PM
papapuskit1
Novice

Old 05-31-2014, 01:50 PM
papapuskit1
Novice

Old 05-31-2014, 01:53 PM
papapuskit1
Novice

It's supposedly a 49 Pan frame, the tank, fenders and frontend is, rims, but it has the EVO motor in it. Thanks

Old 05-31-2014, 02:00 PM
papapuskit1
Novice

Kick start

Old 05-31-2014, 02:06 PM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member