General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Member Seeking advice on purchasing Harley

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2014, 08:12 PM
Blowitoutyourass
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member Seeking advice on purchasing Harley

Whats up guys. Yes, new to the forum and hoping to get some advice. I am planning on purchasing my 1st Harley. I have been riding motorcycles for over 20 years. I started on dirt and then moved to street bikes. I have also spent some time on the track as well. Anyways, I am ready to begin riding a Harley. I have narrowed my decision to a few motorcycles. The question I have pertains to a 1985 low rider. The bike has 80k miles. The evo motor was rebuilt last year that included new cams, pistons, rings, etc....The bike has been completely customized from triple tier forks, side draft carbs, custom fenders, etc.... What I am wondering is how reliable is an EVO motor after being rebuilt. Yes, I understand that with any motor things can go wrong at times. Am I to assume that with this rebuilt 80+k motor that I can possibly put another 80k miles on the bike???? The bike has only 600 miles on the motor since it was rebuilt. Aside from my concern about the reliability of the rebuilt evo motor, the bike looks and sounds outstanding. My neighbor is asking 7k. Any advice/suggestions......Thanks

Old 06-17-2014, 08:47 PM
paolotvl
Novice