General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Rider

Old 06-18-2014, 12:11 PM
NIKKIELLE
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New Rider

I'm just shopping for a bike now. Want to make sure I get what is suitable for me. I am petite (116 & 5'3") and just passed a course and have my M2's. My first thought is to get a Harley....of course!!, but part of me is thinking I should start off on a VStar 650 (this is a suggestion that some are telling me) as I have NO experience! My ego may not like this but I really want to make sure I get some confidence on a bike. What do you guys think. I was looking at the 883 superlow.... some tell me it is front heavy and may not be the best bike to start off on. Once I get the experience.... it may only take one year; I can always get a Harley! hmmmm

Old 06-18-2014, 12:21 PM
cooper14
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

congrats on getting licensed!!!! a friend of mine started on an 883 low and she is very petite and she loves it!!! she says the 883 is very low and light but will keep up when she needs to! good luck with whatever you choose, the v star is a nice ride too!

Old 06-18-2014, 12:32 PM
boro
Tourer
Received 51 Likes on 41 Posts

883 low or 1200 low would be a great choice. I started riding at 59 yo. Did the MSF on a Honda Rebel (I'm 6'.) The 1200 custom was really easy to learn on. It may not weigh that much more than the Yamaha 650, and it will be much more enjoyable.

The main thing about learning to ride is not to panic. You've taken the Safety Course. If you controlled the bike well, and didn't experience uncontrolled take offs or stops, you will be fine with a Sportster. You want to make sure you have full access to clutch and brake levers and that feet can touch the ground regardless of purchase. Demo any bike before buying it.

Happy Trails

Last edited by boro; 06-18-2014 at 12:36 PM.
Old 06-18-2014, 12:34 PM
Bulldog10