General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New bike

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2014, 09:32 PM
Henrik-FL
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New bike

Hi, I'm looking to get my first bike soon..
I'm a total newbie, don't even have my endorsement yet..
A little about myself so you know what you are dealing with:

I'm 6 feet and weigh around 200 pounds.
I'm 40 years old
Never ridden on a bike.
I'm going to take the Basic Rider Course, and thinking about taking some private lessons on the bike I buy.
When I get my bike, I'll be training at empty parking lots , riding around my subdivision for a while before I even take it to the highways or city.
I'm not the type that will see how fast I can get it from 0-60 or going 120mph on the highway

Been looking at used touring bikes the last couple of day, everything from Yamaha, Suzuki, Honda to Harley.. I would prefer a Harley.. Has been looking at the Road King, Tour Glide and fatboy.
As an example .. I found a 1994 Harley Davidson Heritage Softail, would a bike that heavy and with that engine size be crazy for a new rider to buy? As written above, I'll take my time with training and lessons before riding anywhere with a lot of traffic or small city streets.
Let me hear your pro and cons, and if anyone got a big bike as your first motorcycle.

Thanks

Old 08-12-2014, 09:46 PM
C908
Road Warrior
Received 48 Likes on 38 Posts