General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Changed Hand Controls and Bike won't Start

Old 02-07-2016, 08:01 PM
LovelaceJR
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Changed Hand Controls and Bike won't Start

Evenin' from Austin, TX.,
I have a 2009 Heritage Softail Classic that I bought used a few months ago. It has about 25k miles on it.

Today I changed the hand controls to the chrome version, added a fresh battery, and went to start the bike. It turned over really strongly making the normal noises, but then made a loud, repetitive, metallic clicking noise. This is my fifth Harley and the third time I've changed hand controls myself to the chrome ones -- but that doesn't mean I am a mechanic. I've adjusted the clutch according to the service manual.

I am going to take the battery back to the retailer and ask them to load test it just to be sure it's a-ok.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
J-Lo

Old 02-07-2016, 08:44 PM
07DeuceTX
Cruiser
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Was your old battery still working? Put it back in and compare what it does. I'm guessing you started the bike, made sure all was good before you swapped anything out. I tend to do one thing, then fire it up. Move on the next swap, then fire it up. By your description, I'd bet battery. I can't see anything in the hand controls that would keep a bike from starting, especially Neutral.

Old 02-07-2016, 09:40 PM
LovelaceJR
Advanced

Originally Posted by 07DeuceTX
Was your old battery still working? Put it back in and compare what it does. I'm guessing you started the bike, made sure all was good before you swapped anything out. I tend to do one thing, then fire it up. Move on the next swap, then fire it up. By your description, I'd bet battery. I can't see anything in the hand controls that would keep a bike from starting, especially Neutral.