General Topics/Tech Tips Discussion on break in periods, rider comfort, seats and pad suggestions. Tech tips as they become available will be posted here.

Paint protection

Old 03-26-2017, 10:19 AM
Blacklimited
Cruiser
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Paint protection

It's almost time to ride by me and this is my first year with a bagger. Want to know what to use to get the best look and protection of the black paint. I always used meguiars on my black heritage and like the look but didn't have all the paint I do now with the fairing and saddlebags. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks

Old 03-26-2017, 03:20 PM
SPRINGER
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,269 Likes on 1,975 Posts

I personally don't see a problem using the same wax on both bikes. I have a black Springer and I use the same wax that you use and have done so since I bought her new in '05. One thing I found that works great is I also wipe off the wax with a micro fiber cloth and it sure does make a great shine without getting any small scratches or swirls that some other rags will get. Just as a side note, some of my friends that have baggers talked me into experimenting with what they use and it seems to work pretty good, it's called Lucas Slick Mist, it takes less time than actually waxing and seems to work great for me so far.

Old 03-26-2017, 03:23 PM
kel03
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 6,044 Likes on 4,356 Posts

Tagging on here, got my first black bike late in the year, so a wax up is order before start of the season.

Old 03-26-2017, 08:48 PM
eaglefan1
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,131 Likes on 762 Posts

I detail cars for a side gig. I do mostly paint corrections, compound then polish. First and foremost, black is a full time job!
My bike is vivid black and I have experimented with a lot of LSPs on it. This black is by far the softest paint I have ever dealt with hands down.