Hacked, Conversions and Trailering "Harley Sidecar, Conversion Trikes and Motorcycle Pull Behind Trailering Enthusiasts" A forum for the discussion of your sidecar, Conversion Trike or Pull Behind Motorcycle Trailer.

To Rake or not to Rake

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2015, 06:08 PM
FreedomRider
Road Master
Received 337 Likes on 241 Posts
Question To Rake or not to Rake

I am fairly new to riding a trike, I'm 63 and have a 2008 Sportster 883 Custom with a Frankenstein conversion. I enjoy riding it and don't think I've had any problems steering it but get ask why it's not raked.

What advantage or difference would I notice by adding raked triple trees? Would raked trees be of more help at road speed or parking lot speed ... or both? I would probably go with Frankenstein's 4 degree trees, that is what they recommend for my Sportster.

Old 07-31-2015, 06:23 AM
1flhtk4me
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 86 Likes on 64 Posts

When my father in-law had his sidecar he added raked trees to his '05 Road King.
They made it easier to steer.

Old 07-31-2015, 03:46 PM
bronxbill
Road Warrior

Received 453 Likes on 280 Posts

If you are not having any problems with steering, I would not bother raking the trike. The results would probably not be worth the cost. I had a sidecar on a 2000 Heritage, I never changed the rake and didn't have any problems. Or maybe I didn't know I was having a problem

Old 08-05-2015, 05:06 PM
FreedomRider
Road Master

I will be installing Frankenstein's Raked Trees in 4 degree ... I will report back the difference I notice between stock and raked trees ... Thanks to those that offered information ...

The following users liked this post:
badbaggerz (04-09-2021)
Old 08-10-2015, 03:14 PM
FreedomRider
Road Master

4 degree trees were ordered today, Frankenstein said should ship tomorrow ... hope to have them installed by the weekend

Old 08-14-2015, 11:02 AM
FreedomRider
Road Master