Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Ummm I need advice on Tuners

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2015, 07:25 PM
Onedef1
Road Captain
Received 35 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Ummm I need advice on Tuners

At the risk of sounding like a complete Boob, which, I readily admit, I am;

I have no experience with Tuners.

I took delivery recently of a new 2014 SG 120r. The dealer provided me with a tuner. It's a n SE Super Tuner. I'm reading a lot here about tuners, and I'm learning, but a lot of the information here is provided by those much more experienced and discussing topics that are beyond the realm of my capabilities.

This is my first Bagger, my first large cube motor beyond an EVO, and my first EFI, and my first foray into Tuning. Yes, I guess I'm a total newb.

What should my first steps be as far as Tuning? I have a rough Dyno, the bike is in its break-in period, it has 300 miles on it so far.. I'm to return to the dealer at 1000 miles, for fluids and a final Dyno. My intentions are to change the fluids at 500 and I'll take it to the dealer for a Dyno at 1500.

I don't know what I should maybe be doing with the Tuner? Is that just for the dealers use? Can I utilize it? I'd just like to understand what it is I need to be aware of and what I need to do soon or later down the road.
Thanks ahead of time for any advice.

Last edited by Onedef1; 01-07-2015 at 08:12 PM.
Old 01-07-2015, 08:48 PM
harleytuner
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 216 Likes on 129 Posts

Originally Posted by Onedef1
At the risk of sounding like a complete Boob, which, I readily admit, I am;

I have no experience with Tuners.