Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

I admit it. I'm a bit stumped

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2016, 12:57 PM
Mike Lawless
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 485 Likes on 324 Posts
Default I admit it. I'm a bit stumped

I've been wrenching on cars for over 40 years, including campaigning a winning drag race car. But, electronics really ain't my thing. So, I'm a bit stumped by this problem that recently cropped up.

The bike is a '06 Deluxe with 50K miles, bone stock 88 with a 2-1 header and a K&N air filter. It has a PC III "tuner" installed, but not by me. It was on the bike when I bought it. The bike runs good, so I've never messed with it.

The temps have been cooling down here in Central California with lows in the high 40 or low 50s. Not "Cold" by anyone's measure. However, the last couple of weeks, I've been having a failure to start problem in the mornings. Battery is a year and a half old "Big Crank" from batterymart, 310CCa with 17amp/hr capacity. Static test on voltage is 12.7-9 after sitting for a bit, 13.1 right after taking it off the battery tender. Posts are clean and tight. Running voltage at idle is 14 plus volts, so I know the alternator is working.

When cranking for the first time, the starter drags a bit for the first turn, then spins normally. No fire to the plugs. Leave it on the tender all day, and in the afternoon, she starts right up.

I have not checked coil resistance, or battery voltage in morning on that first crank

Obviously the problem is temp related. So I'm looking for ideas from anyone who has had a similar problem.

Old 10-19-2016, 02:14 PM
qtrracer
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 131 Likes on 104 Posts

Un plug the pcIII and see if the problem persists.

Old 10-19-2016, 03:02 PM
Mike Lawless
Outstanding HDF Member
Smile