Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Blue pipes...Rich or lean

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2005, 12:12 PM
barrygreen
Elite HDF Member
Received 360 Likes on 211 Posts
Default Blue pipes...Rich or lean

Ok everyone believes that when a bike is lean the pipes blue, right?
I was a bike mechanic for several years for Yamaha & Kawasaki when I was younger, Back then everyone was just coming out with the 4cyl bikes and I remember the pipes bluing due to the customers letting the bike run with the choke on too long...running rich. Well when I started riding a real motorcycle Eveyone said your too lean your pipes are turning blue, your gonna burn up that engine!!!
Now after visiting the web site of Krome Werks I find this in the Q&A section:

Is exhaust bluing a warrantable condition?

No. All chrome plated steel exhaust pipes or mufflers will "blue" or discolor when the surface temperature reaches 900°F. This can occur if the fuel mixture is too rich. Instead of the charge burning mostly in the combustion chamber, the mixture continues to burn after the exhaust valve opens, down the pipe, causing extreme heat and bluing of the metal and its plated surface in the most restrictive areas - most commonly the bends or the baffle area. cleaning products, such as Blue Buster™, are available and when properly used are quite effective in removing most discoloration from pipes. Heat shields are now available for 3" mufflers

Is re-jetting necessary to install Khrome Werks AR® exhaust systems?