Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Tech & Mechanical Forum > Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.
Sponsored by: Cardo Systems

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-19-2006, 11:32 PM
MW2469 MW2469 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default how to test a crank position sensor

does anyone out there know of a way to test a crank position sensor to see if its sending a signal? please see my question under CUSTOM BIKES... "custom bike no start" for the reasons I need to find this out-I'm stumped-anyone out there with ign knowlage willing to take a stab at my problem?[sm=headbang.gif][sm=feedback.gif]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:59 PM
wlbowers's Avatar
wlbowers wlbowers is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,037
Default RE: how to test a crank position sensor

Put an oscilloscope on the sensor leads and spin the engine. You should see a pulse coming from the sensor.
__________________


Lee

2007 Heritage Classic
Black Cherry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:38 AM
MW2469 MW2469 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default RE: how to test a crank position sensor

Thanks for the reply.what do I do if I can't lay my hands on a o'scope? Any other options?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:49 AM
piniongear's Avatar
piniongear piniongear is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,023
Default RE: how to test a crank position sensor

I have sent you an email about getting the Position Crank Sensor procedure to you. If you respond to that I will be glad to forward it to you................piniongear
__________________

Rolling down the highway on two wheels since 1957...
Owner Red/White 1971 XLCH & 2003 FXDL-Silver over Black

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:55 PM
wlbowers's Avatar
wlbowers wlbowers is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,037
Default RE: how to test a crank position sensor


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MW2469

Thanks for the reply.what do I do if I can't lay my hands on a o'scope? Any other options?
The CKP sensor has a B+ power supply, a ground, and a signal circuit.

As the crankshaft rotates, the wheel teeth interrupt a magnetic field produced by a magnet within the sensor. The sensor's internal circuitry detects this and produces a signal which the ECM reads. The ECM uses this signal to accurately measure crankshaft velocity which is a variable used in order to detect misfire, spark and, fueling.

Looking at your service manual find the wire that goes to the B+ Measure from this wire to ground for the DC supply voltage. Measurement should be taken on the sensor side of the connector. Ground connection as well.

On my Dyna this wire is marked BK for Black. Do this test at rest and with the engine spinning. A loose connection could break as the motor shakes.

If you have voltage present with the key on and with the engine spinning move the positive meter lead to the Signal wire. This is marked R for Red on my Dyna. With the engine spinning you should see a voltage signal on that wire.

You should measure the signal at the sensor connector and the ecm to verify it is reaching the brain.

Good Luck
__________________


Lee

2007 Heritage Classic
Black Cherry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2009, 08:43 PM
FXDWG2002's Avatar
FXDWG2002 FXDWG2002 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wylie, TX (Near Dallas)
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to FXDWG2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by piniongear View Post
I have sent you an email about getting the Position Crank Sensor procedure to you. If you respond to that I will be glad to forward it to you................piniongear
Piniongear, I hope you still monitor this thread. Would you mind sending me that Crank Position Sensor procedure to me?

fxdwg2002 at verizon dot net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2009, 07:27 AM
rbabos rbabos is offline
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont , Can
Posts: 3,706
Default

Is there no across the terminal resistance check that will varify it's condition, like ignition coils?
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2009, 05:42 PM
Old Gunny Old Gunny is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,984
Default

And the crank has a skipped tooth so the ECM knows where TDC is.

Most of these sensors work by majec, sometime the spell wares off.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2009, 07:15 PM
FXDWG2002's Avatar
FXDWG2002 FXDWG2002 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wylie, TX (Near Dallas)
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to FXDWG2002
Default

For those of you that don't know, 0v-5v is TTL logic used in 100% of digital circuitry. This is digital because the red wire and black wire are independent of any power source or ground on the bike.

Ok, I do not have an o'scope to test this with. But it is my understanding that the magnet in the CKP sensor will produce a 5v pulse every time the missing teeth come around. This can be seen on a multimeter as a change from zero (actually 2.81v) to 5v. Do I understand correctly?

It takes 2.81v just for the ECM to register the presence of the CKP sensor.

I kept the plug hooked up between the CKP and the ECM. I pushed straight pins into the connector so I could see the operation (or lack there of) in circuit.

Last edited by FXDWG2002; 08-18-2009 at 07:19 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2009, 07:54 PM
rbabos rbabos is offline
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont , Can
Posts: 3,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FXDWG2002 View Post
For those of you that don't know, 0v-5v is TTL logic used in 100% of digital circuitry. This is digital because the red wire and black wire are independent of any power source or ground on the bike.

Ok, I do not have an o'scope to test this with. But it is my understanding that the magnet in the CKP sensor will produce a 5v pulse every time the missing teeth come around. This can be seen on a multimeter as a change from zero (actually 2.81v) to 5v. Do I understand correctly?

It takes 2.81v just for the ECM to register the presence of the CKP sensor.

I kept the plug hooked up between the CKP and the ECM. I pushed straight pins into the connector so I could see the operation (or lack there of) in circuit.
Sounds good to me.
Ron
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 07:54 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"DIY MODS" and TRICKS to SAVE $$$$$$ fxesuperglide77 Touring Models 1607 Yesterday 08:46 AM
Help Needed. Crank Shaft Position Sensor Killing My Ride! duscal Dyna Glide Models 0 03-24-2014 11:05 AM
Skull Rings Blackbird Off Topic 32 07-07-2013 06:58 PM
Crank sensor issues Dumbcluck Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 2 06-16-2013 12:17 PM


Tags
2000, cam, ckp, crank, crankshaft, davidson, davidsoncrankcase, harley, location, position, price, sensor, sensors, sportster, test, testing


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.