Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

SERT or Dealer Download?

Old 09-19-2006, 11:47 PM
CoolBreeze3646
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 19,346 Likes on 6,840 Posts
Default SERT or Dealer Download?

Okay, this may have been posted before; however I'm new to all this and could use some input. I am going to put a SE A/C and SE slip-ons on my 2006 FXDI. I guess the choice is have the dealer put a download on the ECM for $149.00 + $25.00 labor or purchase a SERT and do it myself. The cost fro the download is about 1/2 the cost of the SERT. Does doing it yourself with a SERT void the warranty on any of the engine components? I can do the mechanical work and am fairly computer literate. So, help me out here, I see a lot of SERT tuners but need some input about the dealer download.

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Respectfully,

The Breeze

Old 09-20-2006, 01:21 AM
Shovelhead Bob
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 21 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: SERT or Dealer Download?

If you are desiring the ultimate in performance, lack of the decel pop, and a bit cooler motor, then go with the SERT.....

If you just want the Harley Tax and are not so wrapped up in the desire to "Smoke a Fatty" from Red to Red, then go with the D/L....

If, by some strange Planetary alignment, that you choose to go bigger, change cams, different exhaust, velocity stack, any type of modification that will affect performance and the Air/Fuel tract is modified, you will have to get another download, or you just update your ECM with the new parameters with the SERT....

Dollar for Dollar, you are better off going with the SERT, as 2 D/L will set you back $300 pre-tax and labor (If applicable).....

SERT is a 1 time investment, and evolves WITH your bike....

Old 09-20-2006, 10:44 AM
CoolBreeze3646