Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Tech & Mechanical Forum > Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.
Sponsored by: Cardo Systems

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-27-2011, 12:50 AM
jgabaldon427 jgabaldon427 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe
Posts: 4
Default Help with Fuelpak, SE heavy breather installed

I have a 2010 Rocker C that I put VH Staggered short shots on 3 weeks ago. Lost a bit of responsiveness but ran pretty good with the exception of slight popping on decel. So l thought I could get back some power and eliminate the popping by installing a Fuelpak and SE heavy breather. 1st I had a HELL of a time installing the Fuelpak. Nearly an impossible install. Had to go out and buy surgical needle nose pliers a foot long, and probably should have bought 2. So I finally got it installed and dialed in and calibrated and thought I would crank her up with the stock breather. Very sluggish!! Sounded really choked and the check engine light was on. After a few minutes it warmed up and seemed to stabilize and the engine light turned off, still a bit sluggish idle, so I took for a short ride and it seemed a bit more responsive than without the Fuelpak. Satisfied I retired for the night thinking I just needed better intake. Next morning I install the SE Heavy breather, try to start but doesn't want to start so I twist the throttle as it's cranking, it starts but is VERY sluggish nearly turning off, so I turn it off and try to turn back on again trying to teist the throttle, it pops and there is smoke from the Heavy breather and pipes. So I call Fuelpak tech and he tells me to re calibrate the throttle. THis does not help. So I call back and the tech goes over the settings with me and they are tottaly incorrect, he asks me if I got the MAP from the papers in the box the Fuelpak came in and I say yes, he proceeds to tell me it's not my fault but they have new map. So he reads me the setttings as I insert them. So I crank it up and it starts up great but with a VERY high rev, then within a minute it gradually slows and then turns off. So then he starts to tell me i need to disconnect the Fuelpak and reconnect the ECU, after the DIFFICULT install I was like "are u serious?" So then He has me re=set all the values to "0" saying this will eliminate the fuelpak. So I try to start again and it doesn't want to start. He then proceeds to tell me it should run fine without the Fuelpak settings and it's not the Fuelpak it's the Air cleaner that is bad. Hours after I hang up the phone with him which is after work time hours, I think to myself, the reason I bought the Fuelpak was becasuse the Heavy breather needed IT or some other Fuel management in order for the bike to run properly. Any suggestions out there??? Please Help!!! I am totally bummed! Trying to save a few $$ Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2011, 09:22 PM
weezer_nd's Avatar
weezer_nd weezer_nd is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 135
Default

go to the fuelpak website, and go through the map lookup. see if it maches up to what you were told on the phone.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2011, 12:52 AM
jgabaldon427 jgabaldon427 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezer_nd View Post
go to the fuelpak website, and go through the map lookup. see if it maches up to what you were told on the phone.
So I put the stock Air cleaner back on, tried to crank it but it didn't want to start so I twisted the throttle and it started. Bit of Black smoke frome the pipes and it stayed running as long as I kept the throttle twisted. Let the throttle go and it died. Twisted the throttle to start again and kept a slight twist to warm it up. Seems the throttle is off calibration. Maybe I should try to recalibrate the throttle on the fuelpak?? After installing the stock breather I set the values on the fuelpak back to "0". When I installed the Heavy breather I failed to disconnect the battery, would this affect the Throttle Position Sensor???
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:52 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this something to worry about? MikeK02048 General Harley Davidson Chat 16 04-15-2013 04:53 PM
Street Bob wont start after Fuelpak install Robert Lawson Dyna Glide Models 6 08-11-2012 12:30 AM
Iron 883 with peculiar problem.....driving me nuts Dictionaaron Sportster Models 7 10-16-2011 01:11 AM
Vance&Hines Fuel Pak on 08 1200C Curt1953 Sportster Models 17 05-02-2010 06:43 PM
fuelpak help: will stage 1 dealer download work with fuelpak? lchen6 Sportster Models 18 08-08-2009 08:53 PM


Tags
air, breather, cleaner, crap, fuel, fuelpak, harley, heavy, issue, pak, runs, set, settings, start, values


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.